To Serve Mankind











{October 24, 2008}   A Happy Friday

     Last friday the 17th was a record night at the Robin.  I made over $30 an hour in tips.  I am still totally amazed and have been reflecting on what I did to make it such a successful night.  I mean, coming home with $160 is a new record for serving in the city of Riverbank and especially with the economy like it is.  Like most other businesses, the restaurant industry has taken a hit too.  Not only are people eating out less, they are also tipping less.  The average seems to be about 10-12%; my personal standard is 20%.  Mrph, ahem.

     So it went down like this…I arrived late due to a minor schedule confusion.  No big deal, fortunately.  No problem shaking that one off.  The rest of the night went picture perect!  I was on fire.  Nothing could bother me.  I was getting 20% tips left and right.  And when I got a $5 tip on an $80 tag, I shook it off without hesitation.  I was calm and focused.  I was truly enjoying my shift, and I guess that came thru to the guests.  I was lucky – none of my guests were buttholes or attention hogs.  It was a really smooth shift – I didn’t even have to sing a birthday song!

     Maybe it was becuz I was still on the move from my shift at Sips.  I had no down time in between jobs.  Unless you count driving in the car, I suppose.  Maybe it was becuz I knew there were friends waiting for me at my house.  Maybe I did just the right kind of yoga that morning.  Or maybe the planets were all perfectly aligned.  All I know is Friday the 17th was a model shift at the Red Robin, and I’ll be doing everything in my power to make that happen again.

Feedback welcome and encouraged!

 

Riverbank Red Robin

Riverbank Red Robin

 

Namaste

Leave a Reply

et cetera
